MC Web Application
Page Links
History

Mother Cabrini parish was formed in 1995 as the outcome of the consultations process begun in 1992 which resulted in the merger of the former coal region parishes of Assumption BVM, St. Anthony of Padua, St. Edward the Confessor, St. Michael the Archangel and St. Stanislaus Kostka. The consolidation of these five parishes into one had several causes, primary of which was the need to realign the former parish boundaries that were drawn on ethnic lines to a more sustainable alignment that brought the various congregations from the five former parishes to the centrally located premises of former St. Edward's parish, which was designated as the new Mother Cabrini parish.

This consolidation, although necessary, was difficult for the people of the parishes listed above to accomplish, as these Churches were long established and had rich and unique Catholic traditions of their own. But this transition was necessary to pool the dwindling resources of the former individual parish communities to create the viable and vibrant Catholic parish of Mother Cabrini that would be enriched and sustained by the charisms and zeal of those parish communities in the Shamokin area that had preceded it.

This new faith community of Mother Cabrini worships together under the patronage of Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini, and it is through her prayers that we continue to grow as a parish family. With her constant intercession and the blessing of Almighty God we move into the future filled with faith, hope, and love.

Historical Note: The current church building of Mother Cabrini stands on the same location as the former St. Edwards church, which was the first church in the United States wired for electric lighting. This was done by none other than former Sunbury, PA resident Thomas Edison in 1883.